Login Join/Renew

Florida Governor signs nursing education bill

Publish Date: 6/23/2014

On June 13th, 2014 Florida Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 1036, which relates to nursing education programs. For the renewal of a license or certificate, up to 30 hours of continuing education will be required biennially. However, nurses certified by health care specialty programs accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC) are exempt from the state’s continuing education requirements. The CNOR credential administered by the Competency & Credentialing Institute (CCI) is accredited by both the NCCA and the ABSNC, and the CRNFA credential is accredited by the NCCA. Thus, CNORs and CRNFAs who maintain their certifications are exempt from the new continuing education requirements in Florida.

Prior to this bill, there was not language in Florida statute exempting nurses certified by an accredited health care specialty program.

Additionally, the bill amends the current Florida statute to require that applicants for licensure who do not take the licensure exam within 6 months after graduation enroll in and successfully complete a board-approved licensure exam preparatory course.

The law goes into effect July 1, 2014. 

Standards & Recommended Practices

Education

News & Events

Shop AORN