The Guideline for Surgical Smoke Safety is open for public comments August 1–August 30, 2016. Learn More

Upcoming Webinars

Upcoming Webinar

Sign up for one of our upcoming webinars, designed especially for perioperative professionals. Can't make it to a live webinar? Register for the replay after the event and watch at your convenience. Webinar recordings are available two business days after the live webinar.

Clean Hands Count! Hand Hygiene Guideline Update

August 25, 2016
Thursday, 1pm (PT); 2pm (MT); 3pm (CT); 4pm (ET)

Hand hygiene is the primary method to prevent health care-associated infections. This webinar will review the recently updated AORN Guideline for Hand Hygiene, which provides evidence-based practice guidance for hand hygiene and surgical hand antisepsis to promote patient and personnel safety.

Objectives:

  • Discuss recent revisions in AORN’s Guideline for Hand Hygiene.
  • Describe the evidence on surgical hand antisepsis and hand hygiene in the perioperative setting.

Speaker: Amber Wood, MSN, RN, CNOR, CIC, FAPIC

CH: This webinar will award one (1.0) CH after evaluation completion.

Please contact AORN Experience Services at 1-800-755-2676 to register.

From Abstract to Poster?

August 30, 2016
Tuesday, 1pm (PT); 2pm (MT); 3pm (CT); 4pm (ET)

Do you know how to develop a professional poster for presentation? Join this webinar to learn key elements in an abstract; categories of posters; poster construction; and how to engage your audience.

Objectives:

  • Discuss what is included in an abstract.
  • Describe key elements to construct a poster.
  • Apply key elements of a poster to each category of a poster.
  • Engage in how you will present the poster.

Speaker: Linda K. Connelly, PhD, MSH, ARNP, CNOR

CH: This webinar will award one (1.0) CH after evaluation completion.

Unique Device Identifiers (UDIs): Roadmap to Implementation

September 1, 2016
Thursday, 1pm (PT); 2pm (MT); 3pm (CT); 4pm (ET)

The FDA Unique Device Identifier (UDI) final rule establishes a system to identify implantable medical devices through their distribution and use in the United States. Join us to learn more about the UDI rule, the implementation roadmap, UDI benefits, challenges, and ongoing work.

Objectives:

  • Describe the FDA Unique Device Identifier (UDI) Final Rule.
  • Identify The Global Unique Device Identification Database.
  • Explain how AORN is involved with the UDI Final Rule.

Speaker: Denise Maxwell-Downing, MS, BSN, RN, CNOR

CH: This webinar will award one (1.0) CH after evaluation completion.

Dirty Scopes: What You Need to Know about the New Reprocessing Guidelines and Infection Risk

September 14, 2016
Wednesday, 9am (PT); 10am (MT); 11am (CT); 12pm (ET)

This is a free, non-AORN webinar. For more information, contact Shannon Holy, MSN, BSN, RN, LNCC, Director of Education and Programs, American Association of Legal Nurse Consultants at sholy@smithbucklin.com.

Price: Free