Access Now: AORN COVID-19 Clinical Support

PERIOP RESET

Reenergize. Refocus. Renew.

The world has changed. But we’ve grown smarter, braver, and wiser – ready to create new beginnings and brighter tomorrows for our perioperative profession.

Join us online April 24 for a one-day virtual event where we’ll be discussing where we go from here.

  • Hear from inspiring keynote speakers.
  • Participate in fun digital experiences.
  • Help reshape the future of the perioperative profession.
  • Earn up to 2.58 CNE contact hours.

Join us this April and receive $40 off Global Surgical Conference & Expo registration in August!*
*Valid on Full Conference or Leadership Summit registration only

Field of Flowers Animation
Steps Ad


AGENDA
Saturday, April 24, 2021
8am-3pm PT/11am-6pm ET
Periop Reset Group Images
 
8-8:55am PT/11-11:55am ET
Chapter Officer Summit
Inspire Integrity: Chase an Authentic Life (0.33 CH)
Corey Ciocchetti, Keynote Speaker
Bill Daniels Chair of Business Ethics and Legal Studies, University of Denver 
9-9:15am PT/12-12:15 ET
Periop Reset
Welcome Remarks
Linda Groah, MSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, FAAN
AORN CEO/Executive Director
9:15-9:30am PT/12:15-12:30 ET
Morning Stretch
Hannah Campbell
Yoga Instructor & Sr. Coordinator, AORN
9:30-10:15am PT/12:30-1:15pm ET
Health Equity…Time to Be About It! (0.75 CH)
G. Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN
Clinical Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - School of Nursing

10:15-10:30am PT/1:15-1:30pm ET
Networking Ice Breaker

10:30-11am PT/1:30-2pm ET
Year in Review
David A. Wyatt, PhD, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC
AORN President & Chief Nursing Officer, Texas Southwestern Medical Center
 
Jennifer Pennock
Sr. Manager, AORN Government Affairs
BREAK: 11-11:10 am PT/2-2:10 pm ET
11:10-11:55am PT/2:10-2:55pm ET
Extinguish Burnout: Practical Guidance for Prevention and Recovery (0.75 CH)
Terri Bogue, MSN, RN, PCNS-BC & Robert Bogue, BS
Thor Projects
11:55am-12:15pm PT/2:55-3:15 ET
Healthy Lunch Demonstration
Chef David Barrett, Executive Chef at the Hyatt Regency Orlando
12:15-12:30pm PT/3:15-3:30pm ET
Sneak Peek at Expo 2021 in Orlando
Kevin J. Metzing, BS, RN, CNOR
2021 AORN Volunteer Coordinator & Administrative Assistant Nurse Manager, Florida Hospital
12:30-12:45pm PT/3:30-3:45pm ET
Proposed Bylaws Changes
Missi Merlino, MHA, RN-BC, CNOR, CSSM(E)
Bylaws Committee Chair
BREAK: 12:45-1pm PT/3:45-4pm ET
1-1:45pm PT/4-4:45pm ET
Building Resilience in an Uncertain World (0.75 CH)
Phyllis S. Quinlan, PhD, RN, NPD-BC
MFW Consultants
1:45-2:15pm PT/4:45-5:15pm ET
Election Results
David A. Wyatt, PhD, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC
Laura A. Gayton, MHA, BSN, CNOR, CSSM
President's Speech
Holly S. Ervine, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CNOR
2:15-3pm PT/5:15-6pm ET
Virtual Happy Hour with Cocktail and Dessert Demonstration
Executive Chef James Katurakes, Centerplate Catering - Orange County Convention Center

FEATURED SPEAKERS

 
David A. Wyatt, PhD, MA, MPH, BSN, RN, NEA-BC, CNOR

David A. Wyatt, PhD, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC 

Dr. David A. Wyatt is the current AORN President and Chief Nursing Officer of the University Hospitals at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, TX. Wyatt is an experienced leader in the perioperative specialty and has held prior leadership roles in perioperative services at various medical centers. Wyatt has served on the AORN Board of Directors, 2008-2012, and is the recipient of the 2015 AORN Award for Excellence in Perioperative Nursing.

 

Corey Ciocchetti

Corey Ciocchetti

Corey Ciocchetti is an Associate Professor of Business Ethics and Legal Studies at the University of Denver. Corey graduated with a law degree from Duke University School of Law, a master’s degree in Religious Studies and two bachelor’s degrees in finance and Economics—summa cum laude—from the University of Denver. Ciocchetti has won multiple teaching and speaking awards including the Outstanding Professor of the Year Award and the Joel Goldman Award for most respected speaker with CAMPUSPEAK. He currently teaches in a department ranked by the Wall Street Journal and Business Week in the top ten nationwide for producing students with high ethical standards.

 

Speaker Icon

Rumay Alexander, EdD, RN, FAAN

Dr. Alexander is a professor at the University of North Carolina School of Nursing. She has served as the Director of the School of Nursing's Office of Inclusive Excellence, Associate Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion and the Chief Diversity Officer for the UNC-Chapel Hill and has provided leadership and resources for its Gilling’s School of Global Public Health, the Adams School of Dentistry and the university’s Faculty Governance Committee on Community and Diversity. She is the immediate past President of the National League for Nursing whose membership comprises over 40,000 nurse educators and over 1200 schools of nursing nationally and internationally.

 

Terri Bogue

Terri Bogue, MSN, RN, PCNS-BC

Terri Bogue, MSN, RN, PCNS-BC, has a passion for helping people be healthy and happy, both physically and emotionally. As a clinical nurse specialist with over 30 years' experience in nursing, she understands how difficult healthcare and life is for patients and providers. Through this experience, she has developed tools that support healthcare providers in delivering effective and compassionate care to their patients and themselves and reducing healthcare-associated infections.

 
Robert Bogue

Robert Bogue, BS

Robert Bogue has a passion for delivering solutions through both teaching and learning. His drive for resolving problems is fueled by his creativity and innovation – by his ability to find solutions that others cannot find. A business owner and community leader for over 10 years, he has authored 27 books and edited over 100 additional books. He knows how to ignite engagement, stop from burning out, and freeze a snowballing conflict in its tracks.

 

Phyllis S. Quinlan, PhD, RN, NPD-BC

Phyllis S. Quinlan, PhD, RN, NPD-BC

Dr. Phyllis Quinlan is a professional certified coach with a 30-year nursing career. She practiced in a variety of emergency services, acute, subacute, and long-term care settings. In 1994, she formed MFW Consultants, a full-service nurse-owned and operated consulting firm. Quinlan focuses on a variety of topics which include but are not limited to, legal nurse consulting, clinical and leadership training, personal/career coaching, and energetic/vibrational healing.

 

Johnson and Johnson Logo