Celebrating 25 Years

The founding Board of Trustees was led by Linda Groah, MSN, RN, CNOR, NEA-BC, FAAN, as President; Louis DeLuca as Vice President; Lawrence Sluss as Treasurer; Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR, FAAN as Secretary; and Judith Pfister, MBA, BS, RN as Assistant Secretary. The first board set forth the leadership and strategy to build the Foundation for continued success.

Many of the first leading partners continue to support the Foundation today including CCI, Johnson & Johnson and 3M. Through the years the Foundation has also been supported by Chapters, State Councils, foundations, and individuals.

Over the past 25 years, the Foundation has awarded more than 10,000 scholarships and grants to individual nurses. Many of the nurses who have received a scholarship or grant in the past become have life-long supporters. The passion and commitment from our supporters will help the Foundation make the next 25 years great and strengthen the impact for future generations of perioperative professionals.

Pictured: Founding AORN Foundation Board of Trustees 1991

Left to right, standing: Judith Pfister, Timothy Scanlan, Lawrence Sluss, Harper Jackson, William Clarke, Ruth Shumaker, James Shumaker, Patricia Hercules, and Louis DeLuca.

Left to right, seated: Kay Ball, Linda Groah, Barba Edwards.

Publish Date: 1/26/16

Since the AORN Foundation was incorporated in 1991, it has continued to grow and enhance its commitment to the mission to advance patient safety by providing education, research, and patient safety initiatives to support nurses who make surgery safe.

1991 AORN Foundation Board of Trustees