Login Join/Renew

89 New Accountable Care Organizations Announced

Publish Date: 7/18/2012

89 new Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) have been selected by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to participate in the Medicare Shared Saving Program, bringing the total to 154 organizations participating in Medicare shared savings initiatives. These new ACOs will serve 1.2 million additional people in 40 states and the Washington D.C. area, bringing the total to more than 2.4 million beneficiaries receiving care from providers participating in Medicare shared savings initiatives. The states represented include: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

These providers are participating on a voluntary basis and are taking responsibility for the quality of care they provide to people with Medicare in return for the opportunity to share in savings realized through high-quality, well-coordinated care.

Each ACO must meet 33 quality standards set forth by CMS regarding care coordination and patient safety, appropriate use of preventive health services, improved care for at-risk populations, and patient and caregiver experience of care.

For more information, please visit: http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/ACO/index.html 

Read More Public Policy News 

Guidelines for Perioperative Practice


News & Events