AORN Virtual Town Hall and Special Membership Meeting: February 23, 2016

Events

Clear All
February 2016
  • SUN
  • MON
  • TUES
  • WED
  • THUR
  • FRI
  • SAT
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
    • AORN Guideline for Processing Flexible Endoscopes
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
    • AORN Virtual Town Hall with AORN President Renae Battié and President-elect Martha Stratton
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29

Upcoming Webinar

AORN Guideline for Processing Flexible Endoscopes

February 10, 2016
Wednesday, 1pm (PT); 2pm (MT); 3pm (CT); 4pm (ET)

The AORN Guideline for Flexible Endoscopes provides guidance to perioperative, endoscopy and sterile processing personnel for processing all types of reusable flexible endoscopes and accessories. The cycle of processing includes point of use cleaning, transporting, leak testing, cleaning, inspecting, packaging and sterilization, or high-level disinfection or liquid chemical sterilization, and storage of flexible endoscopes and related accessories. Following the recommendations provided in this new evidence-based guideline is critical to minimizing the risks for endoscopy-related infection and providing safe patient care. This presentation will provide an overview of the guideline recommendations, including design of the endoscopy processing room, processing errors, and outbreaks associated with endoscope processing, the potential for transmission of prions via flexible endoscopes, cleaning verification, and culture surveillance.

Objectives:

  • Explain requirements for endoscopy rooms.
  • Discuss evidence-based practices for processing flexible endoscopes.
  • Describe recommendations for surveillance of flexible endoscopes.

Speaker: Sharon A. Van Wicklin, MSN, RN, CNOR, CRNFA(E), CPSN-R, PLNC

CH: This webinar will award one (1.0) CH after evaluation completion.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact our AORN Experience Services. Any of our respresentatives will be happy to assist you. Our hours of operation are 8:00-4:30 MST, Monday-Friday.

Price: Free
Upcoming Webinar

AORN Virtual Town Hall

February 23, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016, 4pm PT, 5pm MT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET

Under the AORN bylaws, a quorum of 100 members is needed for membership action between Congresses, with a minimum of at least ten members from each of five geographic regions. Because of this quorum requirement and the recently adopted resolution requiring membership approval of AORN position statements, the following procedures are necessary for participation in this virtual town hall and special business meeting of the members.

Price: Free
Upcoming Webinar

Recipes for Success: The Bariatric Patient Part II – Your Questions Answered

March 10, 2016
Thursday, 1pm (PT); 2pm (MT); 3pm (CT); 4pm (ET)

Ongoing education is an integral component of staff satisfaction and competency. A previous webinar—Recipes for Success—provided basic information for perioperative staff caring for bariatric patients. Part II will provide more focused information based on the evaluations and expressed needs of participants of the previous webinar.

Objectives:

  • Discuss ways to make your OR bariatric-patient friendly
  • Identify mental pre- and post-operative patient preparation for bariatric surgery
  • Review stages of postoperative diet
  • Recognize surgical complications and treatment options

Speakers: Jennifer Fencl, DNP, RN, CNS-BC, CNOR; Angela Walsh, MA, BSN, RN, CNOR; Beverly Clark, BSN, RN, CNOR

CH: This webinar will award one (1.0) CH after evaluation completion.

Price: Free

Leadership Development Summit

April 4 - 7, 2016
Anaheim, CA

Learn new skills, enhance existing ones, and network with peers and industry leaders at this upcoming event.  Great for today’s perioperative leaders and those new to the leadership role, the Leadership Development Summit will teach you the necessary skills and provide you with the resources required to be a successful and efficient leader.

Price: $800
Administrator Skills Course

Administrator Skills Course

April 27 - 29, 2016
Denver, CO

AORN offers a unique learning program – beginning with a three-day face-to-face event followed by a four-month online course – providing ASC administrators with the information and resources necessary to lead a profitable and successful center. The four-month course is also designed to help prepare for the CASC® certification, a distinguished credential specific to the ambulatory surgery center administrator.

Member Price: $2650
Non-member Price: $2900
Administrator Skills Course

Administrator Skills Course

June 22 - 24, 2016
Denver, CO

AORN offers a unique learning program – beginning with a three-day face-to-face event followed by a four-month online course – providing ASC administrators with the information and resources necessary to lead a profitable and successful center. The four-month course is also designed to help prepare for the CASC® certification, a distinguished credential specific to the ambulatory surgery center administrator.

Member Price: $2650
Non-member Price: $2900
Administrator Skills Course

Administrator Skills Course

November 2 - 4, 2016
Denver, CO

AORN offers a unique learning program – beginning with a three-day face-to-face event followed by a four-month online course – providing ASC administrators with the information and resources necessary to lead a profitable and successful center. The four-month course is also designed to help prepare for the CASC® certification, a distinguished credential specific to the ambulatory surgery center administrator.

Member Price: $2650
Non-member Price: $2900