Surgical Smoke-Free OR

Everyone Deserves a Smoke-Free OR

Legislative and Regulatory Initiatives

AORN is leading the efforts to make smoke evacuation the law across the country and ensure that all operating rooms are surgical smoke-free.  Eighteen states - Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia - have enacted surgical smoke evacuation legislation. Interested in legislation for your state? The first step is to connect with AORN Government Affairs.

Why is surgical smoke dangerous?

Surgical smoke is full of carcinogenic and mutagenic cells, can include over 150 hazardous chemicals, including all 16 U.S. EPA Priority Pollutant PAHs, and likely exposes OR staff to biological (human) contaminants including aerosolized blood.

The average daily impact of surgical smoke to the OR team is equivalent to inhaling the smoke of 27-30 unfiltered cigarettes.