Fellows of AORN (FAORN)

The Value of Fellowship

Congratulations to the 2024 class of AORN Fellows!

AORN is proud to announce nine new individuals as Fellows of AORN for their dedication and achievements to the perioperative community.

  • Larry L. Asplin, MSN, RN, CSSM(E), CNOR(E), FAORN
  • Donna J. Doyle, DNP, RN, CNOR, NE-BC, FAORN
  • Holly S. Ervine, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, NPD-BC, CNOR, FAORN
  • Brenda G. Larkin, APRN, MS, ACNS-BC, CNS-CP, CSSM, CNOR, FAORN
  • Cassendra A. Munro, PhD, BS, RN, RNFA, CNOR, FAORN, FAAN
  • Kenneth Romito, DNP, APRN, AGCNS-BC, CNOR, CSSM, FAORN
  • Christopher Stucky, PhD, RN, CNOR, CSSM, CNAMB, NEA-BC, FAORN, FAAN
  • Sharon Ann Van Wicklin, PhD, RN, CNOR, CRNFA(E), CPSN-R, PLNC, ISPAN-F, FAORN, FAAN
  • David A. Wyatt, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, CNOR, FAORN, FAAN

The AORN Fellowship

A Fellow of AORN (FAORN) is recognized as a perioperative nurse leader who has made significant and ongoing contributions to the perioperative profession and the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN). Additionally, fellows have demonstrated a commitment to practice that goes beyond the local setting to make a sustainable impact on perioperative patient care across the country. As a FAORN, fellows demonstrate that their education and training, professional qualifications, and contributions to the perioperative profession have passed a rigorous evaluation and are consistent with the high standards established by AORN.

History of FAORN

Establishing a fellowship of AORN was the vision of 2018 AORN President Stephanie Davis.  A Task Force was formed to investigate and make recommendations for an AORN Fellowship.  The results of the Task Force deliberations were approved by the AORN Board of Directors in 2020.  Initial applications were submitted the same year and the inaugural class of nine FAORN was announced by President David Wyatt in 2021.  The Board recognized that revisions were needed in the application process and a Fellow Redesign Committee was convened in 2021.  Their work continued into 2022 and new applications were accepted in 2022 with new fellows acknowledged at the 2023 Expo in San Antonio.  

FAORN Eligibility

Requirements include:

  • Hold an unrestricted and active license to practice registered nursing at the time of the application.
  • Active member in AORN at time of the application. Fellows must maintain AORN membership to renew their fellowship status.
  • Hold at least one of the following degrees in nursing, i.e., BSN, MSN, DNP, PhD.
  • Hold a master’s degree or higher.
  • Hold a nationally recognized current or emeritus status certification in nursing.
  • Demonstrate commitment to the mission, vision, and values of AORN.
  • Have made significant contributions to the activities of the Association and the advancement of perioperative nursing in one of the following areas of (a) clinical practice, (b) education, (c) research/evidence-based practice (EBP), or (d) administration/leadership. 

Sitting members of the AORN Board of Directors, AORN staff, and current members of the Fellowship Selection Committee are not eligible to apply for Fellowship or sponsor fellows during their tenure.

Meet the Fellows of AORN (FAORN)

Get to know the nurse leaders who have made a significant contribution to the perioperative profession and Association of periOperative Registered Nurses. 

Applications are accepted July 1 (7AM MST) through September 15 (11:59 PM MST). 

Access detailed instructions and examples on how to successfully complete and submit an FAORN application below. 

Fellowship Selection Committee

  • Chair: Carol D. Applegeet, MSN, RN, CNOR(E), NEA-BC (R), FAORN, FAAN
  • Chair-elect: Stuart Downs, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, CPHQ, FACHE, FAONL, FAAN
  • Board Liaison: Jamie Ridout, MSN, MBA, RN, CNOR, CASC, NEA-BC
  • Members: Joy Don Baker, PhD, RN, CNOR(E), CNE, FAORN, FAAN; Kay Ball, PhD, RN, CNOR, CMSLO, FAAN; Terri Goodman, PhD, RN, CNOR(E), FAORN; Charlotte Guglielmi, MA, BSN, RN, CNOR, FAORN; Rodney Hicks, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN
  • Staff Liaisons: Hannah Campbell, BA, MS, CSM; Lisa Spruce, DNP, RN, CNS-CP, CNOR, ACNS, ACNP, FAAN